Some more music related drawings


Here are some more drawings from The Great Scots Musicography. When the publisher commissioned me to do the twenty-odd drawings he just gave me a list of everybody that was included in the book and said I could choose to draw whoever I wanted, as long as I spread them evenly across the genres represented and included the obvious ‘big names’. So I had to draw the likes of Wet Wet Wet, Deacon Blue, Travis and all that shit. And while those drawings are good, and I have been assured by a friend who worked for Ricky Ross that he is a helluva nice fella, Deacon Blue isn’t exactly on my turntable 24 hours a day. It was a good project to be involved in as it was something quite different from what I’d normally do. Up until then the last time I had drawn a pop star would have been Robert Smith on my maths jotter in 1990. The payment for the job funded a week in London staying with friends, and a trip to Brighton to purchase a couple of suits, a grey one and a dark brown one. They still fitted me until recently, but are now a bit snug across the shoulders.

Bert Jansch

Ivor Cutler

Matt McGinn

The Kaisers

Jesse Rae

Arab Strap

The Bay City Rollers

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

